World Heritage Day

World Heritage Day

World Heritage Day is one day that reminds us to praise an excursion back to our conventions and roots.

World Heritage Day is an annual event celebrated on 18 April of each year.

On April 18, 1982, at a symposium organized by International Council on Monuments and Sites, the idea of celebrating the date as ‘International Day for Monuments and Sites’ was suggested. It was approved by UNESCO in 1983. It has since then been celebrated as World Heritage Day.

It plans to save the human heritage and support nearby groups and people all through the world to think about the significance of cultural heritage to their lives, personalities and groups, and to advance attention to its assorted variety and defencelessness and the endeavours required to secure and monitor it.

18 April is praised everywhere throughout the world by an extensive variety of associations and numerous ICOMOS National and International Scientific Committees.

Event celebrate the World Heritage Day by scientific conferences, exhibitions, photography competitions, excursions, press conferences, the awarding of prizes, releasing press releases, publishing magazine articles and projecting films, among others.

As of July 2017, there are a total of 1,073 World Heritage Sites located in 167 “States Parties” Of the 1,073 sites, 832 are cultural, 206 are natural and 35 are mixed properties.

India’s legacy prides itself on folklore, traditions and legends, and writing has dependably been an unmistakable channel to convey forward this social heritage.

Underneath we investigate locales inIndiawhich are a piece of the World Heritage Sites :

India has 36 heritage Sites from which 28 are social, 7 are natural and 1 of them is blended.

some of them are –

Taj Mahal:

Taj Mahal, one of the Seven Wonders of the World is a mausoleum – a funerary mosque in Uttar Pradesh.

Ajanta Caves:

The Ajanta Caves are rock-cut Buddhist cave monuments  in Aurangabad district of Maharashtra state.

Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi:

It is Great Stupa, on a hilltop at Sanchi Town in Raisen District of the State of Madhya Pradesh.

Churches and Convents of Goa:

Churches and convents of Old Goa is the name given by UNESCO to a set of religious monuments located in Goa Velha (or Old Goa), in the state of Goa.

Fatehpur Sikri:

The complex of monuments and temples, all in a uniform architectural style, includes one of the largest mosques in Agra District of Uttar Pradesh, the Jama Masjid.

Hill Forts of Rajasthan:

The serial site, situated in the state of Rajastahan, includes six majestic forts in Chittorgarh, Kumbhalgarh, Sawai Madhopur, Jhalawar, Jaipur, and Jaisalmer.

Historic City of Ahmadabad:

The Historic City of Ahmadabad or Old Ahmedabad of Gujarat was inscribed as the World Heritage City by UNESCO in July 2017.

Each year has a theme, and this year’s theme is Heritage for Generations .

                                      “Maintaining one’s culture, values and traditions is beyond price.”

                                                                                                                                 -Getano Lui